top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarin

What My Heart Needs...



YES! It is a new year! Like my Grandma Bessie always told me… “the older you get the faster time goes!” Like with most things… she was right about that!


The first of the year I have shared a “word” to start my new year. Here is the post from last year with my word for 2018.


So this year, I do have a word… HOPE. I will be sharing more about that is a future post.

However, today, I want to share some of my crafty-side of life.


I just have not taken the time I should to be creative in the paper crafting area, but I created these ornaments for some of my family.


I started by asking each person what their favorite Christmas Carol is… so that is how I decided what I would be doing for each person. As you’ll see two of them had the same song… my sister and one of her daughters.



After completing these, I had such a good feeling of accomplishment. I sometimes see being creative as a frivolous, self-indulgent activity. But little by little I am figuring out how important creativity is to my well-being… physically, mentally, and even spiritually.


Recently, I completed a devotional on YouVersion called C.S. Lewis and the Call to Create. In this plan it used scripture to paint a picture of how God, the Creator, has created each one of us with the call to create.

So God created man in His own image; in the image of God He created him; male and female He created them. ~ Genesis 1:27

This devotional really opened my eyes to how important these creative parts are of who I am. I am still in the absorbing process, but already I feel a great relief of not having to put crafting or creating on the back burner.


I am also learning to appreciate the creative parts of me that Father God has put inside me... baby-steps!

Let the word of Christ dwell in you richly in all wisdom, teaching and admonishing one another in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing with grace in your hearts to the Lord. And whatever you do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through Him. ~ Colossians 3:16-17

I tend to do so many things in my life with a purpose… making it worthy of doing, but sometimes the purpose may just be for me to use the creative parts of me to commune with my Heavenly Father. Hmmm… letting my faith impact everything… EV-ER-Y-THING… I do, including the crafty items I create!


Not sure if this resonates with any of you, but maybe I just needed to write it cuz it is what my heart needs!


In His Grace, Carin


23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page