top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarin

What If...



Oh my… so much on my mind!!! Do you have time to sit with me for a minute or two? We can have tea or coffee… virtually of course! 😉 I made you some white chocolate cranberry scones too!


This is a time like no other! I know I probably don’t need to tell you that! How are you doing? What are you doing to keep yourself busy? Have you taken up a new hobby? I have felt like I just need to grasp more of God’s Word than ever… so that is definitely a good thing in all this craziness going on in the world!


Okay, so a few weeks ago I was having a bad morning, I went to read in Isaiah 41… one of my favorite chapters… I have found great encouragement in this scripture in the past... usually verses 18-20:

I will open rivers in desolate heights, and fountains in the midst of the valleys; I will make the wilderness a pool of water, and the dry land springs of water. I will plant in the wilderness the cedar and the acacia tree, the myrtle and the oil tree; I will set in the desert the cypress tree and the pine and the box tree together, that they may see and know, and consider and understand together, That the hand of the Lord has done this, and the Holy One of Israel has created it. ~ Isaiah 41:18-20

In prayer that morning I was just crying out to the Lord to do a miracle in the world with this Covid19 virus. Knowing that whatever He decided to do I will give Him praise. Asking for eyes to be opened to God… that they could see the unexplained in the world is all because of Him!


I was still needing something more… I just felt like why Lord? Why is this happening and what am I do get out of it? What good can I make out of it? How can I help to encourage others? So I decided to read all of chapter 41 from the beginning.


As soon as I read verse 1… the words, “What if?” came to my heart.

“Be silent and listen to Me, you coastlands. Let the people gain new strength. Let them come near and speak. Let us come together for judgment.”

This time in isolation has been horrible at times. There are people hurting and dying. So many have lost hope, it is so sad. BUT… what if this is a time for us as followers of Christ to find rest to renew our spirits, renew our strength, renew our passion for sharing the love of Christ with others?


The “what ifs” are usually more towards the negative and worry, BUT…

What if… we need to be the stability in this unstable world?

What if… we let the shaking begin and all that is useless to furthering God’s Kingdom is shaken off of us?

What if… we hold onto God tighter than ever?

What if… we stop fighting His plan for what more He has for us?

What if… our eyes are fixed on Him like never before?

What if… there is actually faith-building, Christ-loving, good to come out of this?

What if… this is a new awakening for our life in Christ?

What if… Satan’s plan is thwarted?

What if… we remember Who wins?

What if… this is a lesson in grace?

What if… that were true?


How do we find rest in such tumultuous times? The answer is not difficult… it is trust God that He is in control… that He only has good in mind for His children… that He will never leave us alone.

Don’t be afraid, because I am with you. Don’t be intimidated; I am your God. I will strengthen you. I will help you. I will support you with My victorious right hand. ~ Isaiah 41:10

I have not arrived… I am still a work in progress… I know what is right and I am trying… some days trying is as good as it gets!


What if… Rest to renewal leads to revival? Just think about it!


In His Grace, Carin

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page