top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarin

The Love Story...


Today is my parents’ 60th wedding anniversary! These days that is a feat in itself!


Today is also the first anniversary they have spent apart! Mom is at home recovering from an illness, while Dad is in the hospital recovering from pneumonia... he has been there for over 2 weeks.


Will you sit with me for a while so I can tell you a little bit about their love story?


In 1960, my dad lived in southern California. He lived with his older brother’s family. His older brother lived next door to my mom’s older sister. The Fall of 1960, my mom & Grandma took the train cross country from Michigan to visit my aunt in California.


One night during that visit, Mom went to a party and Dad was at that party too. He asked her out on a date. They went out for the next 5 nights. On the 5th night, Dad asked Mom to marry him!

Of course she said, “yes!”

Six weeks later, Dad flew to Michigan and they were united in marriage on this day, January 28, sixty years ago!


I’m sure it has not been easy to keep a marriage going for 60 years, BUT… when they said those vows… they meant them forever!



For the last 10 years, my mom has been quite sick at times… my dad has taken such good care of her… he loves her so much! My daddy is the epitome of a faithful, godly husband! So with him being sick and away from her… he misses her so much! Thank goodness for FaceTime!


I created this picture for them for Christmas… it is a perfect verse for them! Let everything you do be done with love!


I am the middle child with an older sister and a younger sister. Throughout my life, my parents always taught us girls about God’s faithfulness! We never had to fear of provision… we didn’t have everything we wanted, BUT… we had everything we needed!


As they age and grow weaker… we can look back and see how God was so faithful in their marriage and still is! He created a love story that only He could have created!


Earlier this week… Dad got so bad… we thought we may lose him, BUT once again… God showed Himself faithful! They found that his lung had collapsed, BUT… we look at that as a testing of our faith! Through it all… we knew our Heavenly Daddy had our earthly daddy in the palm of His hand!


I share all this to honor my parents, BUT… also as a reminder that God is always faithful! The outcome may not always be as we want, BUT… God sees the whole picture… He has got this!


In His Grace, Carin


108 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page