top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarin

Nothing Less...




I woke up with the words from a hymn running through my mind… The Solid Rock. A great song of hope:

My hope is built on nothing less than Jesus blood and righteousness. I dare not trust the sweetest frame, but wholly lean on Jesus’ name. ~ Edward Mote – 1834

Come and sit with me for a minute or two… I think there is something I have to confess…


I feel there is a refining process going on in me. God loves me just how I am, BUT… He loves me enough to not let me stay where I am at. He always wants to keep me moving closer and closer to Him.


It has been somewhat of a struggle this last month or so. I know HOPE was given to me as my word to focus in on for 2019… had I known how hard it would be at times… I would have picked a different word! 😊


Just a slight shift in my focus from Jesus sends me into a tailspin! I’m like Peter in Matthew 14:22-33 when he stepped out of the boat to walk on the water to Jesus during the storm.

Jesus immediately reached out his hand and took hold of him, saying to him, “O you of little faith, why did you doubt?” ~ Matthew 14:31

Oh me of little faith! Why do I doubt?


If I glance to the left or the right or worse yet, behind me… my focus is distracted from the Promise to the problem!


Whoever said serving the Lord and doing what He has called me to would be easy??? If it was easy, then would I still need Jesus as much???


There is a cleansing fire lit by the Holy Spirit, lovingly burning away the illusion I have created with my sad, fleshly efforts. Those efforts are worthless… if I think I can control any situation on my own, especially a difficult one… I am sadly mistaken.

I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me. ~ Philippians 4:13

The Inn has been very slow with guests this winter, which has caused a financial hardship. And the financial situation has caused an emotional breakdown for me in a couple different instances. BUT… you know what I know about that… they happened when I took my eyes off Jesus and focused in on the storm, financial or otherwise.


So in my mission to refocus, once again I searched scriptures on HOPE. Did you know Psalms 119 talks a lot about HOPE… HOPE in the Word of God. Here is a verse that really jumped off the page for me:

Uphold me according to Your promise, that I may live, and let me not be put to shame in my hope! ~ Psalms 119:116

That is a bold statement! Do I have the kind of faith that can trust God to uphold me in His promise, that I may live, and that He will come through for me in what I am hoping for… as He promised???


I’ve heard it said that sometimes when God has promised you something in His Word that you have yet to see fulfilled… remind Him of the promise! That may seem silly… since He doesn’t forget what He has said. You know though… the reminder isn’t really for Him… it’s for you! Looking back on what He has told you is a way to encourage your heart. In no time it will turn your heart from brokenness to thankfulness!


Remember… God's promises are always true! He will fulfill what He has promised in ways we can't even comprehend… in His time!

"For no matter how many promises God has made, they are "Yes" in Christ. And so through him the "Amen" is spoken by us to the glory of God." ~ 2 Corinthians 1:20

It comes back around to trusting Him enough to walk by faith… and that walk is what will feed HOPE.

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways submit to Him, and He will make your paths straight. ~ Proverbs 3:5–6

Father, help me to trust in You. I don’t understand You, which makes it hard to trust You. You said You would make my paths straight. Please help. Show me the path You have for me. I know You are the answer no matter the question. In Jesus’ name.


Sorry our conversation went longer than I expected, and I did all the talking! 😊 I am human after all, and I’m full of faults, but God loves me through it all. Thanks for visiting with me!


In His Grace, Carin


12 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page