top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarin

More Than Anything


A song that I am really loving right now is Natalie Grant’s song, “More Than Anything.”


My hubby and I just got back from a few long road-trips and I heard this song multiple times. And every time it came on the radio, it was drawing me to contemplate my motivation and really even my passion for the Lord.


Give it a little listen, just in case you haven’t heard it yet:



As I listened to this heartfelt song… Mary of Bethany came to my mind… I absolutely love her passion for the Lord! Don’t you?


Mary was the sibling of Martha and Lazarus.


One of the first times we read of Mary was as she was sitting at Jesus’ feet while Martha was cooking and cleaning, getting ready for company. (See Luke 10:38-42)


She chose to prepare her spirit by feeding on the words of Jesus rather than preparing food for the body. I know I fail at that so many times! No condemnation, just truth!


Another time with Mary was in John 11:1-44, when Lazarus was sick and died before Jesus came to them. Read that portion of scripture… feel the love and passion in reading of Mary’s actions towards Jesus.


And the last amazing scene I want to share is with Mary and Jesus at dinner at Simon’s house. This is just days before His crucifixion. Mary came to Jesus to soak-up a little more time with Him and His teachings. You can read about this in Mark 14:3-9 or John 12:1-8.


We are told how Mary had an alabaster box of expensive ointment that she poured out on Jesus. Taking nearly a year’s wages worth of perfumed ointment and just poured it out on Him… just poured it all out on Him! Just to show her thankfulness, love, and devotion. She anointed Christ’s head and feet and wiped them with the hair on her head. A-ma-zing!!!


And she didn’t give a thought to what others may have had to say about her. She only focused on Jesus!


In each one of these instances, Mary gave up almost everything to be at the feet of Jesus. WOW!

Passion - strong and barely controllable emotion.

Mary of Bethany had such passion!


So I ask myself… does my passion for the Lord show in my actions and words like we can see in Mary of Bethany???


Do I want the Healer more than the healing?


Do I want the Savior more than the saving?


Do I want the Giver more than the giving?


Do I want Jesus more than anything?


One of my favorite books is Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers. Here is a quote from that book that speaks to the passion Christ has for me and for you too His precious daughters…

“I want you to love me. I want you to trust me enough and let me love you, and I want you to stay here with me so we can build a life together. That’s what I want.”

Do you know that? Are you all in with your passion for the Lord?


Lord, don’t let me just go through the motions of being “churchy” instead of being devoted to You. Help me to choose the better part that will not be taken away.

For [my] heart shall rejoice in Him, because [I] have trusted in His holy name. Let Your mercy, O Lord, be upon [me], just as [I] hope in You. ~ Psalms 33:21-22

In His Grace, Carin

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page