top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarin

How to make a life well lived?



Do you get tired of the “2020 worse year ever” conversation? Yes, 2020 was a year that seemed like 3 years long, BUT… I know there were good things in 2020 that we just cannot forget!


I think of the verse in Romans 8:28

And we know that all things work together for good to those who love God, to those who are the called according to His purpose.

A year ago I made 2 especially important decisions… Luke & I decided to close Shining Light Inn B&B, after much prayer and many tears, God showed us the season for that was over for us. I also decided to become an independent designer for Chalk Couture and pursue more in the home décor area.


I had a ball decorating the B&B! It was crazy good how the vision I could see in my head & feel in my heart came to life in each room in the Inn! We had many guests ask who decorated and if I ever would consider doing it for other people. I don’t say that to brag on my abilities, BUT… to brag on God and the things He has placed in me… the gifts He has given each one of us!


BUT… I have been struggling with a few things lately… mostly with my business. Why do I start at home businesses… when I hate being in business for myself??? I am no good at selling things to people & I don’t feel worthy enough to “sell” myself so people get my heart!!!! It is meshing my heart (ministry, writing, cooking, crafting, home, family, etc.) and business.


My heart… I just want to make pretty things to inspire people to do the same! Making our homes cozy and inviting… a beautiful sanctuary! I get that “pretty things” are not super important in the scheme of life, BUT… it’s really not as much about the pretty things as it is about connecting with people… with me and with each other! Sharing a common interest!


Sharing the things God has put in my heart! I don’t want this to be just another “business”… where we sell a thing & then go on with business as usual!


When I sell or give something away that I’ve created… I love the idea of a little part of me being a tiny part of that person’s life! I know that may sound corny, BUT… it is how I feel… especially when it is bought by a person I already know!


I know inspired style by carin is not a way to make a living, BUT… I also know that my vision and heart’s desire is for it to be a way to make a life… a life lived well!


I’m not showy or flashy! What you see is what you get! If I ever come across as braggy… that is so far from how I ever want to be! I just get so excited about ideas or things I see in my head that come to fruition… I just have to share!!!


It can be so easy to fall into the “comparison trap”… how people run their business is not necessarily that same way I need to run mine! As a reminder to myself & you… DON’T FALL INTO THAT TRAP! We are each unique! We may all have the same calling, BUT… to be done in our own unique way!


A few times a week I get an email titled, “Message from God” Here is today’s:

Today, Carin, God wants you to know that kindness doesn’t go unanswered. Even though it seems like thanks and acknowledgements for good deeds are in short supply, God notices them. When you feel like giving up because gratitude eludes, remember that God is delighted in your efforts. Don’t stop showing kindness because you feel unappreciated, the author of good things appreciates you very much.


Reading in Psalms 121… I felt like it was a gentle hug and an incredible reminder that God sees what I am struggling with. He is leading me in the path He has envisioned for my life… I just need to trust, follow and obey! And that is why I am sharing these thoughts today… obedience!

I lift up my eyes to the hills from where does my help come?
My help comes from the Lord, who made heaven and earth.
He will not let your foot be moved; He who keeps you will not slumber.
Behold, He who keeps Israel will neither slumber nor sleep.
The Lord is your keeper; the Lord is your shade on your right hand.
The sun shall not strike you by day, nor the moon by night.
The Lord will keep you from all evil; He will keep your life.
The Lord will keep your going out and your coming in from this time forth and forevermore.

I’m not even sure what the point is in writing all this??? Maybe the point is transparency and obedience! We shall see!


One last thing… here is a picture of my logo… I created it on publisher, so it is rather remedial, BUT… this is the story behind my logo: I love birds & birdcages, I also never lock any of my knick-knack birds in a cage. So if you notice on my logo the cage is open and the bird is holding the key! I see that as real freedom! There are things in life that we allow to hold us captive, BUT… actually we hold the key to unleash us from captivity! I personally have found spiritual freedom with the key being the sacrifice of Christ and receiving His free gift. I know God has placed in me exactly what I need to live a life in freedom! Anyway that is just a little bit of the story behind my logo.

Will you do me a favor? If any of this spoke to you… will you comment or even send me a private message? I would love to connect with you! I so miss connecting with humans! 😉


In His Grace, carin †

28 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page