top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarin

Hope Is In Sight...


I am very much a “mission-minded” person. By that I mean that when I have a task, accomplishing that task is the only thing in my vision. That can be good and bad… all at the same time!


On the other hand… my hubby gets tasks done but doesn’t let the task obstruct his vision. No matter where we are at… Luke is always on the lookout for people he may know or even acquaintances he may have only met once! We are very much opposites in this!!!


Sit with me for a minute so we can chat…


It was February 12, 1990 that Luke professed his love to me and asked me to be his wife!


Let me back up a minute… it was just a year prior to the proposal day that I found myself fed up with trying to find love. I made a vow to the Lord that He was enough for me! I was okay with spending the rest of my life loving Him and being loved by Him! I found complete contentment with Him!


I had been in a hard and abusive relationship, then after that break-up I really had no desire to date, but to just allow myself to heal. I really did just want to be invisible! Oh, I did go out on a few dates, but that was NOT a good thing for me or the poor guys! 😊


I knew deep down I still hoped for love, but I was trusting God to bring it or not bring it… honestly… I was totally surrendered to Him in this!


Two months later… I was “fixed-up” with Luke by mutual friends. Later in our relationship, I found out that he had seen me, noticed me, and wanted to ask me out but was waiting for the right time. And the rest is history!


Maybe you are in a place in your life where you feel like you are invisible… job opportunities are non-existent, romance department is null and void, candy and chips are sabotaging all efforts to get back to the weight you want. You are wonder how you can see clearly to the vision and hope you once had???


In the book of Genesis, chapter 16 it tells the account of the birth of Ishmael. He was the son of Abram (Abraham) and Sarai’s (Sarah’s) handmaid, Hagar. If you have not read how this came about read the whole 16th chapter of how Sarai was God’s “little helper” is this match-up!


Anyway, after Hagar got pregnant with Saria’s husband’s baby… Sarai treated Hagar not very nice. Sarai asked for it to happen, but then she resented that it did happen! Women… go figure!!!


So Hagar was feeling hurt, abused, worthless, and I would imagine invisible too! One of my favorite parts of this portion of scripture is where Hagar calls God, “You are the God that sees me.” – in Hebrew it is El Roi.

She gave this name to the Lord who spoke to her: “You are the God who sees me,” for she said, “I have now seen the One who sees me.” ~ Genesis 16:13

Have hope… when you are a follower of Christ… you serve a God that sees you! The love of our Heavenly Father is worth more than you can even imagine!

“You will know the truth, and the truth will set you free.… So if the Son sets you free, you will be absolutely free.” ~ John 8:32, 36

Feeling unseen, alone, or like a nobody? Believe the truth! Don’t believe the lies! El Roi… God sees you and your future! The truth is… He is your ever-present hope, salvation and joy… just because He loves you!


Two ways I especially feel loved is to praise God for this gift of His amazing love… this will cause your eyes to be opened to who He is… the one true, living God.


And the other thing is to share the love with others… getting our eyes off ourselves and towards others will always make us feel better when it is done for the Lord.

"Love must be sincere. Hate what is evil; cling to what is good. Be devoted to one another in love. Honor one another above yourselves. Never be lacking in zeal, but keep your spiritual fervor, serving the Lord. Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer. Share with the Lord’s people who are in need. Practice hospitality." Romans 12:9-13

Keep looking to Him... Hope Is In Sight!


In His Grace, Carin


16 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page