top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarin

Figuring It Out... HOPEfully



We are taking a little vacay in a few days and I was thinking about that… I am looking forward to it! But… I was thinking more about HOPE regarding our trip. Like… I don’t say, “I hope the plane gets us to San Antonio!” Although… I do hope that! I just don’t actually say it!


I just have to trust that it will get us to our destination. Why or how can I trust that??? My first thought of reasoning is because the airline has made this trip safely many, many times… so past experience gives me reason to hope.


As I talked about in my previous post… my word for 2019 is HOPE. BUT… I am having a difficult time grasping on to the concept of HOPE. I know what it means to me, but I’m finding it not so easy to explain it with words! (And words are kind of an important part of writing!)


In most cases, I don’t think HOPE is a natural occurrence! Not for me anyway… negative thoughts, discouragement, disappointment can blast HOPE into oblivion! Personally, many times I have to dig down deep to reach it.


One thing I do know for sure is that even on those dark, dreary, low-spirited days this stands as truth… I know that I know that I know where my hope is, or with Whom my hope rests!

Hope must be based on truth!

I don’t have to feel hopeful to keep living with hope in God! He is always faithful! He will always do what is best for me… not always what I want or the way I want, but always what is best! How do I know that??? Because just like the plane… past experience with God has taught me I can trust that to be true!

“Biblical hope not only desires something good for the future — it expects it to happen.” – author unknown

Life’s circumstances are not always easy! They can be a little like a hot fudge sundae… cold and hard but a hot gooey mess all wrapped into one moment! Yes, a little of that sundae can be luscious, but too much and it will give you a belly ache!!!


So, are your circumstances leaving you feeling luscious about life or a little more on the tummy ache side???


Do you ever argue with yourself? I do! Well, if you haven’t yet, now is a good time to start. This journey of hope is worth the fight. The writer of Psalms 42 in verses 5 and 11 is having a conversation with himself. Preach it baby!!! And sometimes the best message is when you are preaching hope to yourself! It is a very simple message… Hope in God!

Why are you cast down, O my soul, and why are you in turmoil within me? Hope in God; for I shall again praise Him, my Salvation ~ Psalms 42:5

My desire is to see the reservoir of hope filled up to overflowing in myself and HOPEfully in you, too! As I take this journey to grasp more of HOPE. Will you join me?


My hope is for joy and love and boldness and endurance to be generated and churned up with new power for the glory of God. I don’t know where God is going with this word HOPE, yet… trust? faith? forgiveness?… hmmm… come along for the ride!


In His Grace, Carin


22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page