top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarin

Even In the Unknown...


…“Father, if You are willing, take this cup from Me; yet not My will, but Yours be done.” ~ Luke 22:42 (TLB)

It is another Friday morning, BUT… not just any Friday morning… it’s Good Friday.


Do you have a few minutes to sit with me as I contemplate a few things???


You can find similar scripture as the one above in Matthew 26:36-56 and Mark 14:32-41… the Lord in the Garden of Gethsemane praying to His Father for strength to get through what He knew was to come. The agony! Jesus was fully man, but also fully God… yet He was willing! Whatever needed to be done for the love of the world. Unimaginable anguish!


In the Luke 22 account of this… I love how Luke shared with us in verse 43Now an angel from heaven appeared to Him and strengthened Him.” He was not ever alone in this!


Think about the times in life where you anticipate what’s to come, but of course not really knowing what’s going to actually happen. Although, with me… my imagination can give me a very screwed-up representation of what might take place. You know the “what-if” game! I know some of you are champions at this game too! 😉


Be encouraged… no matter what you may face today… you are not alone if you know Christ! You may encounter uncertainties, BUT… you can be certain of this…


I will ask the Father, and He will give you another Comforter so He may be with you forever— the Spirit of truth, whom the world cannot receive, because it does not see Him or know Him. You know Him, because He dwells with you and will be in you. I will not abandon you as orphans; I will come to you. ~ John 14:16-18

Let me challenge you… on this Good Friday… share a truth God says about you against a lie you have believed about yourself. Nail it to the cross my friends!


In closing I am sharing something I wrote a few years ago… I hope you find encouragement through this today!


I’ve Never Been This Way Before

It seems so unclear… the path I am asked to tread.

Finding comfort in the details would be a great help.

No facts are revealed.

All I know is… I’ve never been this way before.


I see all that is impossible.

Your Spirit within opens my eyes to all things possible.

You show me You are doing a new thing.

So that is why… I’ve never been this way before.


I will blindly follow You, Lord.

Each expectant step I take led only by Your Light.

Can I plan? No!

I must trust You because… I’ve never been this way before.


One day rolls into another.

Earthly time can be unkind.

Answer Lord! Do I stay or go?

I don’t know, cuz… I’ve never been this way before.


The frustration sets in so many times.

Uncontrollable tears flood down my face.

Fear, worry, anxiety… oh my wretched flesh! Why is this so hard?

Because… I’ve never been this way before.


Faith of a child sounds so simple.

You hold the best plans for my life in the palm of Your hand.

Trusting You should be easy too!

Even tho… I’ve never been this way before.


In Your arms I find comfort.

In Your Words there is peace.

You are my hope.

No matter that… I’ve never been this way before.


Crying out to God to know more, to understand more.

In a sweet whisper I hear You say, “I know.”

He knows… that is all that matters!

He knows… I’ve never been this way before, but He has.

- Carin M. Orth

In His Grace, Carin

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page