top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarin

Calm My Anxious Heart


Just a quick thought for your day…


Wintertime can be a hard season for me… mentally and emotionally! I don’t mind the snow or even the cold, but being trapped in a sunless atmosphere is just so difficult at times! The sun doesn’t come out much, but anxiety does! Anyone else know what I’m talking about?


Reading in 1 Samuel 7… as the Israelites were in panic mode over the possible attack from the Philistines… they were begging Samuel to continue to cry out to the Lord on their behalf. As I read this, I got a vision of me when I get in panic mode… I am like a chicken with my head cut off. One defeated thought leads to another defeated thought and before I know it… I am defeated! Right where the enemy wants me to be!


Worry and panic are just distractions from turning towards God! They accomplish nothing except making me more panicked and worried! I have to be willing to pray through the panic! Be willing to let go of the worry!


“Be anxious for nothing, but in everything by prayer and supplication, with thanksgiving, let your requests be made known to God; and the peace of God, which surpasses all understanding, will guard your hearts and minds through Christ Jesus.” ~ Philippians 4:6-7

So in the anxiety-ridden times of life…will I willingly raise my hands to Heaven in worship and praise to my only Answer?


You know… that is still not always my “normal” first solution… but I am getting better at it… after all I am a work in progress! :) Thank You, Lord!


Besides… the more excited I get about my problems… the less excited I am about God! Yes to God! No to problems!


"Humble yourselves, therefore, under the mighty hand of God so that at the proper time He may exalt you, casting all your anxieties on Him, because He cares for you." ~ 1 Peter 5:6-7

We need to… Stop making an idol out of our problems!!!!!



In His Grace

Carin







20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page