top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarin

Between Here & There


For the vision is yet for the appointed time; it testifies about the end and will not lie. Though it delays, wait for it, since it will certainly come and not be late. ~ Habakkuk 2:3

Oh my… there has been a LOT going on in my life and in this (crazy) world! Sit with me for a minute to chat!

Let me back up a little… at the first of 2020, I was asking the Lord if He had a word for me to focus on, I got the word balance. Also in my quiet time I was feeling something stirring in my heart… a life change of some sort maybe??? As I talked to my hubby about this, he said he was feeling something stirring as well… so we decided to just keep praying for guidance.

In February and the beginning of March we were going through the final days of Luke’s dad’s illness… so that kept our focus of course. Mid-March as the Covid19 thing started to lock us down… all our reservations were being cancelled at the B&B, which could have been really scary, BUT… God!

In the isolation and quiet time of staying at home, we as a couple felt God was showing us that our time as Innkeepers was ending. Were we willing to surrender this dream to Him? After many tears and difficult conversations between us and God… we knew there was nothing more we could do but surrender… not just let it go, with God ripping it from our hands, but putting it all on the altar! Shining Light Inn was God’s to begin with and if He saw it was time for us to move on… then we could only be obedient!

Now… fast forward to July 7, 2020… the house (aka Inn) has been on the market for about a month. We have had some great showings, but no one has made an offer yet… so we wait!

The verse that I started this post with… reminded me of a blog post I wrote a few years ago, so I decided to share that post with you today! I needed to read it and be reminded of what Holy Spirit spoke to my heart at another waiting period in my life!


*******************************

One of my favorite stories in the Bible is when Peter was asked to step out of the boat and walk on water. Read it in Matthew 14:22-33. I can remember as a kid in Sunday school hearing this story... in fact I can almost hear Mrs. Bauer, the beginners’ class teacher, telling that story. She was such a sweet, loving lady and I am sure she had great impact on many lives, including mine. Anyway, back to the story... as a kid it seemed so "mystical" to me (although I am sure as a kid I didn't know that was the word for it!).

I can remember being down at our local beach and thinking if I put my eyes on Jesus I should be able to walk on water... I was taught that Jesus was in my heart, so I fixed my eyes on my chest (because that was where my heart is... and Jesus lives there... are you still with me?) and stepping out very carefully to try and walk


on water... why didn't it work for me... what did I do wrong????? Oh, the mind of a child... wish I could be that naive now.

Do you ever feel like the in between time is


the hardest time? For instance, what do you think was going through Peter's mind the time between when he asked Jesus to bid him come and walk on the water and when he actually got out of the boat??? Do you think he was thinking, "Do I, don't I, do I, don't I?" Did he have anxiety? I find for myself the in between time is probably the hardest time... the thinking about it... wondering what will happen... should I, shouldn't I?... is this really what I should be doing?... how long do I have to wait?... what am I to learn in this time?


I guess that is the question... what am I to learn in the time in between? This time can be the hardest but it can also be the most rewarding. During these times we can be drawn closer to God... our eyes can be taken off ourselves and our problems... we can reach out to help someone else... we can completely surrender our ways to God's ways.

"But they that wait upon the LORD shall renew their strength; they shall mount up with wings as eagles; they shall run, and not be weary; and they shall walk, and not faint." Isaiah 40:31

Here are the lyrics to a song I really


love called "Time In Between" by Francesca Battistelli

You were there when Your Father said, "Let there be the light"

You obeyed when He whispered, "Son, You have to leave tonight"

To spend nine months in a mother's womb, three days in a borrowed tomb

It's the time in between that brings me to my knees

Knowing You came for me

And all that I can be I'm amazed, so amazed

And I thank You for the time in between

Don't take much for this crazy world to rob me of my peace

And the enemy of my soul says You're holding out on me

So I stand here lifting empty hands for You to fill me up again

But it's the time in between that I fall down to my knees waiting on what You'll bring

And the things that I can see I know that my songs incomplete

Still I sing in the time in between

So many ways Your love has saved the day

And I'm grateful for them all.

But it's the time in between the middle of two things that says everything

It's the reason I believe, I'm amazed, so amazed

And I thank You for the time in between.

Lord, I thank You for the time in between.

Just know that in the time in between you are not alone… you are not the only one! Hold tight to ALL that you know to be truth… God’s Living Truth inside you. In the silence… in the stillness you can rest in His loving arms and His faithfulness. Be amazed… be thankful… praise Him! He will get you through! He will complete the work He has begun in you!

I’m convinced that God, who began this good work in you, will carry it through to completion on the day of Christ Jesus. Philippians 1:6

*******************************

Let me know what your thoughts might be in the in between time!

In His Grace, Carin

39 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page