top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarin

Believe IT...



Man oh man… do I need a little time with you all! Get a steaming cup of tea or coffee and come sit with me for a bit! (No social dis-tancing or ma-sk required!) 😉


I know… no reminders needed about how difficult 2020 was… in soooooo many ways! Has 2021 gotten any better for you?


Will you take a little step back in time with me to 2015? March 20, 2015… there was a small, Christian film called, “Do You Believe” that opened on that day! It was produced by a local (Ludington area) production company, so my Hubby, Luke, and I had the chance to be extras in this movie. If you haven’t seen the movie yet… give it a watch!


The movie had an ensemble cast with a few different storylines that culminated into a crossover storyline. The subject matter was of how far would you go to stand for what you believe. Also, it asked the question of why God would allow bad things to happen.


The first Sunday of 2021, both of my parents were taken by ambulance to the hospital. Mom was dealing with mental confusion and very disoriented, while Dad was unable to stand or walk. They did both seem to have colds too… such strange symptoms! Mom and Dad are both 80 years old but not really what I think of as being “old”. When they got to the hospital, they found that Mom had a severe UTI. A Covid rapid test was done on both, one was positive and the other was negative. They kept them in the hospital until the following Saturday afternoon.


By Monday morning, the ambulance was called once again to come take Dad back to the hospital… once again he couldn’t walk. He said his legs just wouldn’t work… it was very scary! Later that day, the small local hospital where he was taken transferred him to a bigger hospital 60 miles away.


Seventy-four days have come and gone (minus the one day he was out of the hospital)… my parents’ 60th wedding anniversary has come and gone… many procedures, scary moments, rollercoaster of emotions have come and gone… AND Dad remains in the hospital!


Thank goodness… Dad has been able to have 1 healthy visitor at a time was he was moved out of quarantine. So thankful too for Facetime! There were many days when Dad would Facetime with Mom, my sisters, and nieces just to hear them bantering back and forth… many of those days he didn’t even feel much like talking or couldn’t talk, BUT… I think it helped him get through those lonely, isolated moments.


I share all this with you for this reason… in the last year I’ve had to contemplate a little more not only of what I believe, BUT why I believe!


Do I believe in God expecting my life to be free and easy here on earth?


Do I believe just because I have made Jesus Christ, Lord of my life, I will never have anything bad come my way?


The answer to those questions is NO! I do not expect life to be easy… why would I?

“These things I have spoken to you, that in Me you may have peace. In the world you will have tribulation; but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.” ~ John 16:33

I remember a story I once read about Arthur Ashe. He was a tennis pro in the 70’s who died in 1993 of AIDS that he had contracted from a blood transfusion. He was a Christian man and was asked how God could let him get sick when he did nothing to deserve it? Here is his answer, “If I were to say, ‘God, why me?’ about the bad things, then I should have said, ‘God, why me?’ about the good things that happened in my life.”


So if bad things are still going to happen… why do I believe? I know that I will never go through anything (bad or good) alone! Christ’s grace and mercy covers me no matter where this life may take me… He will never leave me or forsake me! And I cannot do this life on my own… nor do I want to even try!

“Be strong and of good courage, do not fear nor be afraid of them; for the Lord your God, He is the One who goes with you. He will not leave you nor forsake you.” ~ Deuteronomy 31:6

My two sisters and I have been taking turns staying with Mom a couple nights a week. I was there this week Monday – Wednesday… on our way home we went to see Daddy at the hospital. I took the hair clippers to give him a majorly overdue haircut! We had a nice visit and he was so happy to have some physical contact that wasn’t medical related! He shared with me how there is a lady that works in physical therapy at the hospital that comes to visit him quite often before or after she goes to work, sometimes just to give him a hug. Dad’s voice cracked as he told me how much her visits have meant to him! She has prayed with him and been such an encouragement to his heart! My heart was so full as I gave thanks to God for sending this lady to minister to my Daddy! There was a small colorful envelope that he directed me to look at… inside was a glass pebble that had a cross with the word, “Believe” written on it… a gift from this sweet Christian friend!


Here is a picture of my Daddy's hand holding this precious reminder! I treasure this picture!


My Dad is a humble, God-honoring man, BUT… I know there has got to be times he has wondered why this has all taken place with his health. No, matter what God has allowed… Daddy has never been alone! It will never be more than God’s grace can see us through!


These might be the moments we would rather leave out of our story when we are going through them, BUT… on the other side… just think of the testimony! #Heisfaithful


Prayers would be appreciated for Dad, Mom, and the whole family as we wade through these unknown waters, BUT… we know the One who walks on these same waters!


In His Grace, Carin


BTW… if you watch Do You Believe I am a blurred redhead behind Sean Astin in the cafeteria scene, and Luke is the man walking down the hall in the last scene in the hospital. Our claim to “fame”!

38 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page